Skip to content

Make the Right Choice

August 4, 2016

It’s been a while since I updated. Life gets in the way. But I thought I might do quick little updates on something my daughter has learned in daycare with which I still struggle: making the right choice. It can be with my eating habits, my relationships, my lack of motivation with house work. So often, I make the wrong choice out of convenience or defiance. But I need to strive to be a better role model for my daughter. And today, I’m consciously making the right choices. 

Choice 1: breakfast


My first choice was breakfast. I’ve been sick the last few days and excusing myself from kitchen duties with fast food. Today, I had turned in the direction of the local McD when those words ran through my head: make the right choice. So instead of turning in at McD, I went to Keoger for grass-fed yogurt and a Larabar. Not quite as paleo as I would like, but I made the right choice. 

Choice 2: taking the stairs

I won’t lie and say that I haven’t stepped on an elevator today, but when I feel strong enough to climb, I do. So, today I did take the stairs from the first to second floor. And I will continue rebuilding my stamina and forming a habit where taking the stairs is the norm instead of the nuisance. 

Choice 3: volunteer work

My company allows 8 hours per year of paid volunteer time. So, I used 4 of those hours to be a mentor to some wonderful Girl Scouts. I was given an out earlier in the week when the other ladies who were scheduled to go had conflicts, but I was determined to stick with my commitment. It was fun, and I would do it again. 

So, those are some good choices I made for Thursday, August 4. I made some bad ones too, but at least I gave a good effort. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

